James retires…

I was very sorry to read this morning that a persistant wrist injury has forced James Toseland into early retirement with what looks like immediate effect. James has had a hard run of it in the last couple of years, although whenever I have spoken to him this season he has always managed to remain positive in his outlook, all credit to him for that. I was hopeful that he was on the road to recovery but it seems that it’s not to be.

James, still only 30 years of age, has had a long and distinguished career in World Superbike, winning the title for Ducati in 2004, and again three years later, for Honda. He has started 201 SBK races since 2001, and finished on the podium in 61 of them! Of his 16 race wins, 5 of them were scored with Ducati, meaning that James was one of those important riders to have helped Ducati reach the 300 race win milestone. Having raced in various national and international championships, James can be proud to have reached the top of his game, twice world champion and truly one of Britain’s “greats” in the world of motorcycle racing. We’ll all miss you on track mate!

About ducatigirl

Hey guys, I came to live in Italy several years back and although I didn't plan to stay long-term, I'm still here and now engaged to a wonderful man, living life to the full with him and his three children. Seeing as my job as press officer for an international motorcycle racing team takes me around the world I thought I'd share some of my experiences with you all...
This entry was posted in ducati, motorsport, racing, sbk and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment